Notices
The New Member Registry If you're new to JK-Forum.com, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your Jeep JK Wrangler!!

Aligment for JK

Old 03-24-2019, 05:01 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Aligment for JK

I've recently installed a 3 inch base lift from Teraflex. After it's all said and done I understand its mode like 3 1/2. So two question I have since I'm a newbie to this stuff. One, do I need an aligment after buying FIXED control arms that are specifically designed for my lift (front lower, rear upper) that is suppose to correct aligment issues; and two rear seems higher than the front, is that normal to make up for spare tire? I installed the whole thing myself let's just say it was a bit more than I expected.

https://www.extremeterrain.com/teraflex-sport-4-flexarm-kit-for-253-lift-0718-jk.html?utm_content=XT Handling - Control Arms%7CTeraflex&T5_Var4=J117817&intl=0&utm_campaig n=XTW+Wrangler+Brands+%26+Vehicle+Low&dialogtech=p pc&utm_source=google-pla&utm_medium=shopping&T5_Var2=shopping&T5_Var3=o range&gclid=CjwKCAjw1dzkBRBWEiwAROVDLBbDr38yOmClw0 3b7eZePwAkcG7YR6FRW73LQE5dIjKEKdBw3I93cxoCXPUQAvD_ BwE&gclsrc=aw.ds

These are the arms that I installed.
Old 03-24-2019, 06:19 PM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,816 Likes on 1,586 Posts

Outside of recentering your steering wheel and setting your toe, there is nothing else an alignment shop to do. It would be nice to know what your caster is with the new arms. Many places will give you the alignment spec sheet even if you elect to not have them make any changes. This thread will probably head in the direction of fixed length arms vs. adjustable, but I don't care to take it there tonight. You have what you have and it's all installed. Good job by the way, doing the install yourself. Give it a couple hundred miles and go back and retorque every bolt that you touched.
Old 03-25-2019, 09:08 AM
Super Moderator

Received 114 Likes on 108 Posts