Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

2007 JKU Door Hinge Repaint with Pics of Corrosion

Old 06-07-2015, 05:49 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default 2007 JKU Door Hinge Repaint with Pics of Corrosion

So I had to do somthing with my door hinges since the corrosion was so bad on one hinges on the bottom almost the entire paint flaked right off and exposed the bright white corroded aluminum underneath.

On a sick note this corrosion is really pretty cool, it is an electrochemical cell at work, (I am a chemist who works in polymer chemistry not electrochemistry) and to see the transfer of electrons like this is pretty cool to me...but I would prefer it not happen to my Jeep!!

Anyway, I removed the hinges, used some Rustoleum self etching primer, then I used the Duplicolor bed armor truck bed liner. I needed something that was hard to screw up because I absolutely hate painting.

The bottom hinges were corroded much more than the tops. I have read some people talk about how the hinges are bonded to the door with an adhesive, in my case only one hinge one bonded and I used a credit card to pop it loose, it didn't take much effort and it was still corroded underneath. This particular hinge showed no corrosion on the outside, but as you can see in the pic of the top hinge below it was still messed up between the aluminum and steel. The other hinges were not bonded at all.

Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version

Name:	Black Hinges.jpg
Views:	1273
Size:	4.60 MB
ID:	613944   Click image for larger version

Name:	Front Door Black Hinges.jpg
Views:	4078
Size:	139.9 KB
ID:	613945   Click image for larger version

Name:	Lower Door Hinge Corrosion.jpg
Views:	5383
Size:	189.8 KB