Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Advice needed for Towing a car with stock JK unlimited

Old 06-01-2011, 01:08 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Advice needed for Towing a car with stock JK unlimited

I'm moving summer of 2012, and trying to plan ahead. I'm a surgical resident, so budget is tight, and I'm trying to find the most economical way to get my 2009 JK BASIC unlimited 4 door, my girlfriend's 2008 4 door VW jetta, and our pack of 3 dogs down to Houston from Ohio (about 1200 miles). We would prefer to drive together. Gas saved with driving just the jeep and towing the VW may or may not help out, depending on how much we can get a tow dolly for.

In any case, any suggestions on upgrades or advice needed to do this? Unfortunately I have heard Uhaul won't rent a tow dolly to a soft top jeep, which is what I have. I'll have to look for another company or see if anyone is selling one off of craigslist for a decent price.

I got the basic 2009 Jeep Unlimited 4 door. Dana 30 up front, 3.21 gears, upgraded the stock 16" wheels to 17" 32" wheels and tires off of another JK. Other than that, I have added a class III receiver hitch, and nothing else.

A few specific questions:
Has anyone run this set up to tow? I don't need to get there fast, just need to get there and not ruin my truck.
Should I get a transmission cooler?
Should I regear? To what? Approximately how much is that gonna cost?
Is a tow dolly the way to go, or should I or even can I tow on a flat trailer with the car off of the pavement all together?
Any other suggestions or thoughts?

Once I finish my fellowship I'll finally be able to afford some fun upgrades, but in the mean time, I'll be running stock if possible.

Thanks for any advice.