Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Dana 30 swap with rubicon Dana 44

Old 08-11-2018, 12:55 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Dana 30 swap with rubicon Dana 44

Hello,
I’m fairly new to the Jeep community but my Jeep Wrangler Unlimited was involved in a front end collision and I need a front axle so instead of putting a Dana 30 for about the same cost as a Dana 44 rubicon I was wondering would I be able to swap the Dana 30 to a Dana 44 from a rubicon. I know the Dana 44 has the electronic locker so I was wondering how I would go about that.
Old 08-11-2018, 05:18 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 13 Likes on 12 Posts

Yes you can swap a rubi D44 in the front of your JK very easily. As far as the locker, you'd have to wire it to your own switch but that too seems pretty easy as well.

I'm planning to do this exact swap your asking about once I find a reasonably priced axle or set of axles close to me.
Old 08-11-2018, 08:33 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by Wuebben.2
Yes you can swap a rubi D44 in the front of your JK very easily. As far as the locker, you'd have to wire it to your own switch but that too seems pretty easy as well.

I'm planning to do this exact swap your asking about once I find a reasonably priced axle or set of axles close to me.
Ok cool! Do you know if there’s any sort of video or write ups?
Old 08-11-2018, 10:34 AM
JK Jedi Master
FJOTM Winner

Received 162 Likes on 154 Posts

Yep, same mounts, same dimensions, same hubs and brakes, no problem to bolt up a rubi44 instead. There have been quite a few posts about wiring the locker, but I didn't save any of the links - shouldn't be hard to find though. What gear ratio are you running now? Newer rubi axles can come with either 3.73 or 4.10, but not 3.21.