Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Diagnosing worn ball joints?

Old 03-28-2011, 04:30 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Question Diagnosing worn ball joints?

OK, so I'm looking for a simple explanation in layman's terms as to what I'm looking for when diagnosing whether my upper and/or lower ball joints are bad.

I've had some experience with ball joints on older cars before but I understand that the JK's ball joints have a different (and more limited) range of normal operational movement to ball joints commonly used on the upper & lower control arms of car-type independent front suspensions. My warranty's running out soon so I want to get everything possible sorted out at the next service and if the joints are bad, I want to know what I'm talking about to the service manager at the dealership in case he tries to blow me off and says everything is OK.

So from what I understand I jack up the front end, grab a front wheel at the top and bottom and apply pressure to the top & bottom in turn. So firstly, what is the normal range of movement for a healthy JK ball joint (ie: rotational only, lateral, etc)? Then secondly, what exactly am I looking for movement-wise to indicate that the ball joints are bad?

Thanks in advance for your replies!
Old 03-29-2011, 11:08 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Wow! No replies yet. Kinda interested myself since I've seen so many threads with "WTF!?! My ball joints are bad!! Boo-hoo!"
Old 03-29-2011, 12:12 PM
JK Enthusiast