JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion

JK-Forum.com - The top destination for Jeep JK and JL Wrangler news, rumors, and discussion (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/)
-   Stock JK Tech (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/stock-jk-tech-12/)
-   -   Fuel injector cleaning (https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/stock-jk-tech-12/fuel-injector-cleaning-349746/)

EHarris 03-22-2019 01:40 PM

Fuel injector cleaning

I know the solvent exists to put in your tank but is there actually a way to disconnect the injector and put it in a parts washer or something to fully clean it out?

Sorry for the possible ridiculous question but I'm dealing with an extended start issue and if the crank and cam position sensor don't fix it this weekend I'd be looking into either the ignition lock cylinder or fuel injection cleaner. I've never heard of anything but the stuff in the gas tank but I'm not an expert by any means. I do have access to a parts washer.

nthinuf 03-22-2019 03:06 PM

Good timing. I've been thinking about a can of Sea Foam for the tank, and maybe wipe some cleaner in the throttle body. Probably won't be taking it as far as you are, but I'm interesting in the replies.

casamtb 03-22-2019 03:29 PM

I've seen in related searches a bunch of videos on the tube about using a pressurized fuel injection cleaning kit that apparently works incredibly well. Google it on the tube and see what Scotty K says.

karls10jk 03-22-2019 03:44 PM

I've replaced fuel injectors in the past, on my 2000 Wrangler. It's my understanding that they get gummy inside. A parts washer is good for big pieces but you may be on to something if you look at those ultra sonic cleaners from HF with some kind of hot juice in the bin to break down the gum.

EHarris 03-23-2019 08:25 AM

Originally Posted by karls10jk