Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Quick question for a jeep newbie

Old 12-03-2006, 05:17 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Quick question for a jeep newbie

So like I said, I'm new to the jeep way of life (first SUV I've owned), anyway...I got a 2DR Rescue Green X model. I bought the only one on the lot so it doesn't have the 4.10 gearing at least I don't remember seeing it on the window sticker. Anyway here's the dilema, now that I've bought the jeep I'm broke, but I want to do some changes without loosing my warranty. Here's what I'm purposing let me know if it will look ok, as I'm not into the 4 wheeling yet but it will see some trips out to the mountains as I live in VT (its also my daily driver so I can't risk the damage that I would probably do)...anyway

I like the look of black steel wheels, but at this point cannot afford a lift, but I do not like the way the cast aluminum rim and tire upgrade. I'm thinking of putting the procomp 16x8 steel rims with tires that will keep the same diameter as the 245/75R16's so that I have no problems with rum or anything else. I believe the tires would be BFG A/T 265/70R16 but I may be wrong. Would this help with the look (as people say the tires look too small and tucked in) then later when money and if I get the guts to do the work and void that part of the warrenty I could lift the jeep and get new tires.
Old 12-03-2006, 05:36 PM
JK Newbie