Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

4 D2s and one switch

Old 02-28-2015, 06:18 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 4 D2s and one switch

I'm an electrical novice so please keep it simple, thanks. I currently have a pair of D2 driving lights on my bumper, 10 amp plasmaglow switch in the cab. I just purchased a pair of D2 hyperspots for the a-pillars. I'd like for all 4 lights to work off one switch. Is it possible to just splice the two harnesses together just prior to the switch without any problems? The total wattage of the 4 lights is 110, total amps is 7.9, 18ga. wiring. Am I going to get off this easy or what? Thanks
Old 02-28-2015, 06:38 AM
JK Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

Originally Posted by RAMbone
I'm an electrical novice so please keep it simple, thanks. I currently have a pair of D2 driving lights on my bumper, 10 amp plasmaglow switch in the cab. I just purchased a pair of D2 hyperspots for the a-pillars. I'd like for all 4 lights to work off one switch. Is it possible to just splice the two harnesses together just prior to the switch without any problems? The total wattage of the 4 lights is 110, total amps is 7.9, 18ga. wiring. Am I going to get off this easy or what? Thanks
No. For 8 amps you should be using 12 gauge. Here's a calculator.

Wire Size Calculator

Are you against relays? It would be fairly easy to wire up a relay triggered off the old lights that would turn on the new lights SAFELY. It wouldn't be much more work than what you want to do. I could draw you a schematic if you need one.
Old 02-28-2015, 06:53 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by 14Sport
No. For 8 amps you should be using 12 gauge. Here's a calculator.

Wire Size Calculator