Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Install Pioneer AVHX head unit myself. Am I opening Pandoras box?

Old 01-09-2015, 03:17 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default Install Pioneer AVHX head unit myself. Am I opening Pandoras box?

Am I setting myself up for disaster by thinking a double DIN stereo install doesn't look all that bad?

Never installed a stereo so I could be totally delusional.

Installed plenty of lift kits, mounted 35" tires to bead lock rims by myself even wired up my winch and off road lights. But, alas. I have ZERO car stereo experience!

Here's what I've got;
2012 2 door JK, manual trans with Infinity sound system.
Stock head unit is, bleh. Pretty sad for the "upgraded" factory system.

Ordered a new Pioneer AVHX1600DVD head unit. I don't use Bluetooth, just bought it for better sound.
PAC RP4-CH11 wiring harness for Jeep. Hear this lets me keep the steering wheel controls and works with Chryslers weird CAN BUS system.
Metra antenna adaptor. Whatever it is, Crutchfield said I needed it.
Chrysler/Jeep dash fit kit. Plastic surround thingamajig.

Do I need a 3 wire brake bypass switch? it's only $15 but some say you do some say you don't? I'm not sure.

Just looking for some advice, encouragement or even discouragement before I start tearing my dash apart and cutting wires next week. Share your experience with me.

Still have 3-4 days for the rest of the parts to come in.

thanks gang!
Old 01-09-2015, 03:57 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Just did mine last week it's easy just take your time and follow the instructions for the pac unit
Old 01-10-2015, 04:39 AM
JK Enthusiast