Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

A quick guide to off roading basics- help me create it

Old 04-22-2015, 12:03 PM
JK Freak

Received 5 Likes on 5 Posts
Default A quick guide to off roading basics- help me create it

I have been speaking with some of the people from an area I like to go wheeling right up the road in NC. With some recent trail damage that has occurred, and after speaking with them, I decided it would be great if there were a flyer or brochure that could be passed out with each OHV pass that is purchased that explains the basics of off-roading, trail etiquette, and the consequence of not following the rules.

We are all here because we love jeeps and we love venturing off the beaten path. For me, it's more than that. I'm a combat veteran, and like so many like me, one of the items i'm service connected for is Post traumatic stress. Over the last couple years, even fishing and hunting wasn't fun for me anymore, and if I could have found a one way ticket back to the sand box, I would have gone. That may sound funny, but those of you in my shoes know exactly what i'm talking about. I've been off roading my entire life, but until I bought this jeep and climbed up my first ledge, I didn't know what it was all about. Crawling put new meaning into my life and filled a void that I thought would be empty forever.