Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Winch Basics

Old 11-13-2015, 12:34 PM
Owl
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default Winch Basics

The reason for the post is that I've not found answers to some of the questions I have about winches (especially the newer versions) after doing searches on a few of the forums. So, can someone (or many someone's) provide some input, advantages / disadvantages on the following:

- Synthetic rope vs. steel cable?
- Wireless remote control vs. wired remote control?
- Warranty issues with the manufacturer's (Warn, Ramsey, Smittybilt, etc. etc.)

I have an older Smittybilt, which has served me well, but at my age, there's some issues with lugging the heavy steel rope around. A wireless remote sounds like a good idea, but I have no personal experiences with such. Lastly, I'm leaning toward a new Warn, as there's something to be said about peace-of-mind whilst out on the trail.

Thanks for reading, and any input.
Old 11-13-2015, 02:02 PM
JK Junkie

Received 4 Likes on 4 Posts

Originally Posted by Owl
Synthetic. Much safer. Lighter. Doesn't rust.
To make the synthetic serve you longer, cover it from hot sun and keep it clean from sand or mud.

I prefer the wired, for added reliability and no dependence on yet another battery.

I think you can't go wrong with Warn.
Old 11-13-2015, 02:18 PM
JK Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts