Notices
MOAB If you're thinking about heading out to Moab, Utah and are looking for information regarding trails, lodging, camping and/or events that are going on, this is the forum for you!

Spring Break in Moab, trail suggestions

Old 02-13-2014, 09:19 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Spring Break in Moab, trail suggestions

I'm taking my family (my wife and I and 2 teenage daughters) to Moab for spring break this year. It's gonna be our first major trip with our jeep. We'll be there March 30 through April 4th. I'm an off road newbie, so I plan on doing the easy and moderate trails. Fins and Things is rated as difficult in Charles Wells' guide but plan to do that one too. I hope the weather is going to cooperate, but from what I've read it should.
Any suggestions on which trails would be ones not to miss on a first time trip to Moab in the easy to moderate range?
I only have a 2inch leveling kit and 33.5 inch mud terrain tires, it's my daily driver.
Click image for larger version

Name:	angle shot.jpg
Views:	281
Size:	45.0 KB
ID:	530683

Last edited by TurnerBJT; 02-13-2014 at 11:31 AM.
Old 02-13-2014, 03:14 PM
JK Enthusiast

You will be fine on fins n things. You could also look into top of the world or hey Joe canyon. Good luck and be careful.
Old 02-13-2014, 03:29 PM
Forum Tech Advisor

Received 7 Likes on 5 Posts

With a 4 dr JK on 33s aired down to about 12 psi in Moab, Fins and Things would be considered easy.

Do Fins and Things to get a feel for how well your jeep can do. Then, Hells Revenge--bypassing the major obstacles--will be no big deal.

Poison Spyder and 7 Mile Rim would be great to do.

Kane Creek is fun. There is one tight spot for a 4 door JKU on 33s that is no problem if you have an experienced spotter with you.

The trail ratings take into consideration people driving a stock Toyota truck or less capable rig. A 4 dr JK in Moab has significantly greater capability than most 4x4 vehicles.