Notices
Camping & Hiking General discussion forum regarding all things camping or hiking including hiking trails, great places to camp, camping or hiking gear and anything related to hiking or camping.

The Equal-i-zer Hitch....???

Old 01-18-2010, 03:25 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default The Equal-i-zer Hitch....???

Ok,

I know someone out there is an expert at physics or an engineer or ....smarter than me...

I'm new to towing, I plan on buying a Travel Trailer soon. I have a Sahara 4dr and these are the things I know.....

...3500 lb tow limit
...350 lb tongue limit
116" wheelbase allowing for a 21 ft trailer
frontal limit of 32sq ft.
GCVW of 8029lbs.

I already know I will be UNDER 3500 lbs with the trailer, and I will be UNDER the combined weight of 8000lbs as well...so....

Now, my question is, with the Equal-i-zer Hitch, which is a weight distributing hitch and sway control system...their website defines its function as "equally distributing the tongue weight to all the axles..".front, rear and trailer..does this mean, if the trailer I am considering has a tongue weight of 400 and the hitch itself weighs 50 lbs...does using this hitch make my ACTUAL tongue weight (400 + 50 / 3 =) 150 lbs? 3 being the number of axles the weight is distributed to?

Please, don't guess, if you know for sure, post, but don't guess....

Yoke
Old 01-18-2010, 07:24 PM
JK Enthusiast

I can't answer your question directly - but aren't those hitches adjustable? You could make your hitch weight negative if you have the stays tight enough. My father has that type of hitch on a car hauler and sometimes has to loosen the stays if he is going through a dip because it can actually pick your back tires off of the ground.
Old 01-19-2010, 06:19 AM
JK Enthusiast

Yes, they are adjustable. I don't own one yet, but am hoping to 'adjust' my 450 lb tongue wt to something under the 350 limit. The online directions really doesn't give a formula for how much it can be reduced....