Notices
Jeep CJ, Jeepster & Willys Overall Jeep CJ, Jeepster and Willys technical discussion bulletin board forum. This includes pretty much most Jeeps made between 1955-1986.

Cj-5 restoring question

Old 07-25-2011, 03:09 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Cj-5 restoring question

Hey, I might be buying a CJ-5 from a friend of mine for about 1000$ to have as a long time restoration project. im not sure the year but it came with a buick 304 v8 engine

my question is: it has rusted through a bit round where the stick shift lever meets the floor panel. the width of the hole is around 1/2" and the length is prob 5". can this be simply repaired by welding plates under and on top or is this a serious issue
Old 07-25-2011, 04:51 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default CJ

I'm no expert but a little rust around the gearshift might be the least of your worries. CJ bodies tend to rust around the wheel wells and rockers. The frames tend to rust where they arch over the rear axle. Let's face it, they're rust buckets. Crawl under it and check it out completely.
The 304 V8 was from AMC and is arguably the best motor ever put in a Jeep. Buick sold a 225 V6 to Jeep from the mid 60s to the early 70s.
$1000 sounds like a pretty good deal if it runs. Decide what you want to do with it and how much you want to spend. The sky's the limit.
There's a ton of info available on the web. Books by Jim Allen and others are great sources. Parts are so available you could probably build one from scratch.
Good Luck
Old 07-25-2011, 05:15 PM
JK Freak