Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

CB and HAM

Old 11-26-2012, 03:48 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default CB and HAM

Ok so I'm new to HAM ! Very new! The group I wheel with is split 50/50 with CB/HAM is there a mobile transceiver model that operates both ham band frequencies and cb frequencies? If not is there a way I can connect both a CB and a HAM radio to the same antenna as I don't want two antennas on the back of my jeep.
Old 11-26-2012, 08:58 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by emtclimbermatt
Ok so I'm new to HAM ! Very new! The group I wheel with is split 50/50 with CB/HAM is there a mobile transceiver model that operates both ham band frequencies and cb frequencies? If not is there a way I can connect both a CB and a HAM radio to the same antenna as I don't want two antennas on the back of my jeep.
No to the first question and a qualified Yes to the second.

There is no legal, FCC type-accepted transceiver which combines amateur and Citizens Band frequencies. Modifying an amateur transceiver to work on 27MHz is against FCC type-acceptance and quite illegal for transmitting.

There are ways to feed different radios into one antenna. None of them are simple. It will be helpful to know what amateur frequencies you intend to use. What class amateur license do you hold?

73 de WP2XX
Old 11-26-2012, 05:16 PM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by NQ3X

No to the first question and a qualified Yes to the second.

There is no legal, FCC type-accepted transceiver which combines amateur and Citizens Band frequencies. Modifying an amateur transceiver to work on 27MHz is against FCC type-acceptance and quite illegal for transmitting.