Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

how to deal with wet environments

Old 10-25-2011, 02:04 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default how to deal with wet environments

I'm interested in getting a CB radio installed. But I'm curious how they handle the elements. I'm northern best at pitting my top up or shying away from puddles and water crossings. Do you all have any advice about how to mount or install a unit to keep it from being damaged? Or maybe I'm better off just getting a handheld unit?
Old 10-26-2011, 05:41 PM
JK Freak

Received 24 Likes on 17 Posts

i'm surprised no one has answered your post. i'm not an expert on how to do a water protected installation, but i'd say it needs to be protected, i.e. above the floor if you get water in on crossings and under a top of some kind if it rains, and if you don't have the top be ready to unhook it and put it away if it's going to rain. maybe there's something in the marine or motorcycle cb category that you can use if you do a search on that? i used a handheld cb for a while and it worked for close range. it's been a while but i think i hooked up a mag mount to it to make it better. it was harder to hear though with its small speaker.
Old 10-27-2011, 04:35 AM
JK Enthusiast

Default Im surprised too...