Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

size of hole to mount Firestick ??

Old 07-28-2011, 04:22 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default size of hole to mount Firestick ??

Im looking to make a mount in a hurry (spare tire) for my JK, Id like to mount a Firestick (the adjustable tip kind). Im gonna use some 1/4" x 1 1/2" alum flat stock and bend it 90 degrees at the top, what size hole do I need to mount the Firestick, 1/2"? I think I read the antenna has a 3/8 threaded shaft, but requires a 1/2" hole for the nylon insulator bushing? Can anyone verify this? Im very new to all this so just trying to do what I can. Im going away next weekend and want to got get the antenna Saturday to mount it and run the coax. Thank you,
Craig
Old 07-28-2011, 04:37 PM
JK Freak

From the FireStik website:

Nylon washers are a must for a dependable antenna stud mount installation. If you have a non-Firestik stud mount there is a good chance that it has inferior ABS insulators. If so, we recommend that you upgrade it! ABS has a tendancy to crack, or worse, to compresses under pressure. If allowed to compress, the tension that holds your coupling nut together dimenishes and the coupling nut can come loose ... sometimes causing the loss of your antenna. Each package contains eight (8) pieces. All have a 3/4" (19mm) diameter and are made specifically for 1/2" holes and 3/8" bolts (industry standard sizes). The kit contains three washers with a 0.031" (1mm) shoulder, three with a 0.125" (3mm) shoulder and two with a 0.195" (5mm)shoulder.
Old 07-28-2011, 04:41 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by monkers