Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

dual battery + alternator ??

Old 03-03-2009, 06:18 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default dual battery + alternator ??

ok, so i was thinking i would really like a dual batt set-up??( http://project-jk.com/wp-gallery2.php?g2_itemId=117475 ) but would also want both batterys hook up to the jeep that way they both charge up... now before i get someone that tells me im retarded! im no expert, nuts and bolts i can do! wires and amps,watts etc gets alittle confusing? how would someone do this setup? would u really need a second alternator? i didnt think so if i remember correctly my old mans RV has like 3 batterys!! i think he said something about a regulater..? pertty much a switch so once batt #1 is fully charged then goes to batt # 2 right?
i figured this would be a great setup i know many of u guys out their run lots of lighs and winches, just think now with this bracket you could have a cleaner install!! part numbers, wiring diagrams, and prices would be a great help!!!! thanks in advance oh and this is my first post love this website!!
Old 03-03-2009, 06:29 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Do an internet search for ACR Automatic Charge Relay. They are used extensively in the boating and RV industries. Any boat store or RV store in your area can school you on them. They isolate the batteries when you shut down and connect them together when your engine is running. That way the second battery can be completely drained but the engine battery remains fully charged and ready to start.