Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Where would you wire 12v for a backup cam?

Old 03-26-2008, 09:10 AM
dth
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Where would you wire 12v for a backup cam?

Hi there,

I'm trying to install a backup camera and am at a loss as to where to find the best place to get power to it. I have very little experience with automobile wiring. Would it be safe to tap the cigarette lighter? Is there somewhere better?
Old 03-26-2008, 09:16 AM
JK Enthusiast

The cigar lighter is only powered when the Jeep is on. That is a good place to start if you are only going to be adding the camera. If you are planning on adding more powered accessories, a powered block distribution system is the better way.
Old 03-26-2008, 09:18 AM
JK Enthusiast

Oh, and please use the crimp method of taping into the power. It's a quicker and easier to splice. You can get these at auto parts stores or better hardware stores.
Old 03-26-2008, 11:32 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by dth
Hi there,

I'm trying to install a backup camera and am at a loss as to where to find the best place to get power to it. I have very little experience with automobile wiring. Would it be safe to tap the cigarette lighter? Is there somewhere better?
The wiring kit that goes with the Lockpick system includes the power needed for a backup camera.
Old 03-26-2008, 06:44 PM
dth
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by cmcginnes
The wiring kit that goes with the Lockpick system includes the power needed for a backup camera.
Thanks for the response. I am not using the Lockpick system.
Old 03-27-2008, 03:47 AM
JK Enthusiast