Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Loss of power/torque at top of climb

Old 05-27-2009, 03:36 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Loss of power/torque at top of climb

Hello gang, I am new to the Jeep world and getting use to how it behaves in various conditions. I had an interesting experience climbing a hill with a 4" curb at the top. I have 410 gearing with an automatic. I had ESP turned off and was in 4-wheel high.

The hill I was climbing was steep and it had a curb at the top that I could not see when I was at the base. The Jeep climbed the hill without any problem, but when it got to the top and the tire hit the curb it stopped. I floored it and she would not move an inch. Full power and no wheel spin or anything. The engine revved and the Jeep acted as if I was pushing against a wall.

I was able to get over it by backing off and hitting with more speed. I also did the same test in 4-wheel low. It made it over without a problem. I live in flat country. When I wheel I'm generally in high. I've found it virtually impossible to shift into lo when I'm already on a hill and stopped.

Should I have done something differently? If I had a different gear ratio would it help me in this situation?
Old 05-27-2009, 04:52 PM
JK Enthusiast

My first thought is you should have been in 4 Lo to start with. Unless you do some hi-speed wheeling, 4 Lo is the way to go. I put it in 4 lo when hit the trails and I go all day without moving it until it is time to drive home.