Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Off Road Driving Tips

Old 08-02-2014, 12:10 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Off Road Driving Tips

So I am new jeeper, and I am soon going to go offroad. Do you y'all have any tips/advice for driving in mud and small rocks? (I am completely new to offroading so some pointers, even the basic ones, would be nice) Also is there an online video or driving course i should take before I Drive offroad? Thanks Guys, 1st Jeep, 1st time offroadin.
Old 08-02-2014, 12:18 PM
JK Enthusiast

my advice would be make sure that you go with someone that has experience that can help you on the trail. Never wheel alone. The first time i went off roading was with a local jeep club and they were more than willing to help me out. rocks can be very tricky so make sure you have a good spotter. as far as mud, make sure you know roughly how deep it is before going in or else you could end up in alot of trouble.

Last edited by ScubaSteve913; 08-02-2014 at 12:20 PM.
Old 08-02-2014, 01:38 PM
JK Freak

Hook up with a local club and find some guys that are willing to help you go at a pace that works for you and your jeep. Not sure where you're from but maybe you can find a 101 class or something. Also know that you will eventually do some damage weather it be minor scratches or whatever but it won't stay NEW forever. One last thing I've been trying to do which I learned here was run it stick for a while and learn what kind of wheeling you like and what mods you will NEED vs. Want/"look cool"
Old 08-02-2014, 01:54 PM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post