Notices
JK Off-Road 101 Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as general off-roading tips, tricks, techniques and equipment usage such as winching and vehicle recovery information.

Tire chains?

Old 10-23-2011, 07:57 PM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Tire chains?

I am planning on going on a wheeling trip in Wyoming on Dec. 3 (as some of you know) A friend of mine is comeing along for the ride and he say I need to go and get tire chains. I know they are usefull in the snow but never even though of using them on a wheeling trip. Do I need to go out and buy some for this trip? Do I need them at all for wheeling? Need help on this one. I am still a little new to the wheeling and off roading world but I am just not sure chains on my large tires is the right thing. Please some one pull me out of this lack of knowledge mud hole I have got myself in.
Old 10-23-2011, 08:52 PM
JK Freak

I will be bringing mine for the trip. I only have them for the front. I got them at NAPA and they are the heavy duty ones. If you get some make sure to get some bungee straps to tighten them with. You may not need them but if you have them you will be better prepared. Let me know of you have any questions.
Old 10-24-2011, 02:11 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by mstrofpuppets
I will be bringing mine for the trip. I only have them for the front. I got them at NAPA and they are the heavy duty ones. If you get some make sure to get some bungee straps to tighten them with. You may not need them but if you have them you will be better prepared. Let me know of you have any questions.
How much were yours and how do you store them when on trips like these?
Old 10-24-2011, 08:57 AM
JK Newbie

Originally Posted by Slob
How much were yours and how do you store them when on trips like these?