Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

2012 Surprises

Old 08-23-2011, 12:16 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default 2012 Surprises

Okay, I'm a newbie but I have been reading many threads and appreciate the knowledge that is shared here. Figured I'd make a minor contribution too. Picked up my new 2012 JKU last night. A couple of things:
  • Balancing the hard top on my rack and hoist was interesting but not too much of an issue. Had to run back to the computer to double check the number of screws to remove. Wish I had remembered everything before asking the hoist to lift, because...
  • I forgot to pull out the windshield wiper connector. It will be interesting when I go to re-connect in December. I don't think anything broke as it came apart with force.
  • Spilled a Coke in the back as I was setting up the soft top. Cool it's a Jeep and its dirty!
  • The tailgate appears to have some tension so no gas assist strut is required. My sales rep says that's a 2012 thing.
  • Four grab handles were provided so I can take those off my shopping list. Sales rep wasn't expecting this.
  • Wish someone at the dealer had told me I didn't need to order the mirror relocation brackets. At midnight it was not pleasant to learn that the powered mirrors can't be relocated!
  • Um... forgot to put the straps back on the door. It must have swung open at some point because I noticed a ding walking back to the car after lunch. Day #1 and I got a ding!!! I guess its all good, it is a Jeep!
  • The rag top was not exactly as simple to assemble the first time through although not rocket science either. Just an expectations management thing.
  • It's louder and bumpier than my 12 year old LX470 but I expected that so no surprises there.