Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

Led lights

Old 09-15-2013, 03:48 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Led lights

Dumb question but I'm new to this so ill ask anyways . I just bought some led lights but I need a 12 v power where would be the best place to get it from without messing up anything ?
Old 09-15-2013, 03:53 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by jabarnett
Dumb question but I'm new to this so ill ask anyways . I just bought some led lights but I need a 12 v power where would be the best place to get it from without messing up anything ?
What is the purpose of the lights? If auxiliary style lights for the exterior, I would run them directly to the battery with an internal switch to control them.
For the interior to light up the foot wells, I ran mine to my mirror adjuster knob in the lower dash bc it can be dimmed with the rest of the interior lights.
Old 09-15-2013, 04:24 PM
JK Newbie

Wow good info and no relays
Old 09-15-2013, 08:12 PM
JK Jedi

Received 10 Likes on 9 Posts

Wow good info and no relays
No u will still need a basic Aux relay that u can get at any auto parts store & an in line fuse
Old 09-15-2013, 08:16 PM
JK Junkie

Originally Posted by RavenZ33
What is the purpose of the lights?
And how many/ what size are the lights? If it's something like a footwell light then you don't need a relay since it doesn't add that much draw to the system. If it's a 50" bar then use a relay and a fuse.

Details......

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 4
Old 09-15-2013, 08:28 PM
JK Jedi

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

I tapped my foot well led strips into the dome light wire. Clean and painless.
Old 09-15-2013, 09:51 PM
JK Newbie