Notices
JK Talk General discussion forum regarding thoughts, opinions and rumors about the Jeep JK Wrangler or related subjects that don't quite fit in the Modified, Stock or Electronics forums.

soft top question

Old 04-30-2010, 05:50 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default soft top question

im fairly new to jeeps, this being my first one. i have a question about the soft top....i see pictures of jeeps on here with the tops folded down so nice and neat....how come mine never works out like that? i followed the directions in the manual and it still looks like a mess. can anyone help me? thanks!
Old 04-30-2010, 05:53 AM
JK Junkie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by LaxAHolic
im fairly new to jeeps, this being my first one. i have a question about the soft top....i see pictures of jeeps on here with the tops folded down so nice and neat....how come mine never works out like that? i followed the directions in the manual and it still looks like a mess. can anyone help me? thanks!
Takes some patience and really watching what you are doing in every step to ensure it'll lay as even and flat as possible. I can get mine to look decent, I've had some gnarly ones for sure!
Old 04-30-2010, 06:00 AM
JK Enthusiast

I just put mine down this morning and its a mess too. A friend just got a 2010 and the new tops are so much better. You can open only the front half if you want and its a way easier fold down. Fukkers changed it right after I bought mine
Old 04-30-2010, 06:10 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The thing to remember is to think "accordian" when folding.

Theres a part when folding it in the back when youre almost done that one part of the soft top wants to fold outwards towards the spare tire...but in reality, if you were following the back-forth-back-forth of the folding, it should be folded BACK into the Jeep towards the backseat.