Notices
JK Write-Ups Bulletin board forum regarding useful installation write-ups, budget fixes and homemade solutions for the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X).

HID retrofit (lots of pics)

Old 08-04-2009, 08:55 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Talking HID retrofit (lots of pics)

This project is not that hard, but it's time consuming. You need quite a bit of patience.
08 Mercedes-Benz E55 projectors
4300k bulbs

Here are some pictures of what I'm working with

Stock headlamp

Headlamp with Mercedes-Benz projectors. As you can see, they're a lot longer.

1. Wire harness ($20-$25)
I think you could buy H13 harness on Ebay, but I have no experience with them, so I recommend making your own. It's the easiest part of this project.
I bought a cheap soldering gun from Radioshack and soldered the wires together. You could crimp them, but that's up to you.

Parts you need:
1 In-line ATO/ATC Fuseholder 10 AWG
10ft 1/2" Split Loom Tubing
10ft 18 AWG Red/Black Zip Cord
10ft 16 AWG Red/Black Zip Cord
1 1N4007 1A 1000V Diode (I bought 3, just in case)
1 12 VDC Automotive Relay SPDT 30/40A
1 Gold Ring 10 AWG 3/8" 2 Pair
1 12 VDC 5-Pin Relay Socket Interlocking Style
1 220uF 35V Axial Mini Electrolytic Capacitor

This is the wiring diagram that I followed (stolen from HIDplanet.com/forums with the capacitor added to avoid the flickering issue with our

Jeep). Also see this thread https://www.jk-forum.com/forums/show...695&#post26695

I used the 16AWG wire for the HID and 18AWG for the solenoid. 5 feet 16AWG from battery to passenger light (where the relay is located and

where i'll be plugging into the stock socket), 5 feet (16AWG to ballast, 18AWG to solenoid) from passenger to driver side.
To make the socket, I broke off an H13 bulb and soldered wires from the relay to it.

White is ground, red is low beam, and black is high beam

and the finished result

2. Cutting up the headlamp