Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

alignment issue after spring swap

Old 01-26-2017, 04:20 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default alignment issue after spring swap

Hope someone can help me brand new to this site.
First I am no mechanic but grew up on farm and have some basic wrench skills. My wife has a 2016 wrangler 2 door softtop willy wheeler. It is not a daily driver but a recreation / weekend vehicle. It has 8500 miles on it. I have put on a barricade 3/4 front winch bumper which added about 50 lbs over stock. Plan is to eventually mount a winch like I have on my truck. I am in process of installing steel fenders and will put on a rear steel bumper also. I know the steel bumpers will produce some sag so i wanted to maintain factory stance and have little stiffer suspension but did not want to run into all the issues with a lift, even a "level". So after doing some research i decided to just swap the factory coil springs on the jeep 14/55s with slightly stiffer 16/57s. I was looking for about a 1 inch lift. I did the switch and got 0.5 inch lift on front and 0.75-1.0 inch in rear. Drove for a few miles everything seemed ok just a little stiffer which i expected. Steering wheel even appeared to be centered still. I measured the axles and best I could tell they were still centered or close. I know they should have shifted some but with a tape measure they appeared to be within 1/16th inch of centered and can't do anything about that anyway without adding parts. So far so good. Then i went to front of jeep and looked at front. with the front driver side wheel straight