Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Anyone wheeling on AEV wheels?

Old 10-18-2008, 09:08 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Anyone wheeling on AEV wheels?

First, a quick into as I am a newbie to the site. I am from CT and run a 2dr JK Rubi. I have been wheeling stock for 6 months or so and have decided to upgrade.

I am looking at adding a 4" Superlift with 35's on AEV Bridgers. The wheels are sweet but don't know how long they stay that way. Does anyone have them and go off-road? They are powercoated but do they resist scratches and rashes?

Thanks!
Mig
Old 10-18-2008, 09:16 AM
JK Super Freak

I've got the 17" AEV Pintlers on my JK. My JK is not a daily driver but only used off road (and getting there). It has 6000 miles on it with the much of it off road (in harsh Colorado and Utah conditions). The wheels are in fine shape and I'd buy them again.
Old 10-18-2008, 02:11 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by CT Rubi
They are powercoated but do they resist scratches and rashes?
No alloy rim is resistant to scrathes and rashes. Steel rims are resistant or get alloys with fake locks and then make steel locks.

Below is MT Classic II that has a fake steel lock added on. They welded on some alloy tabs that have a thread for the fake lock srews.
Old 10-18-2008, 03:11 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by Sim79
No alloy rim is resistant to scrathes and rashes. Steel rims are resistant or get alloys with fake locks and then make steel locks.

Below is MT Classic II that has a fake steel lock added on. They welded on some alloy tabs that have a thread for the fake lock srews.