Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Coilovers benefit or not?

Old 09-18-2015, 07:45 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Coilovers benefit or not?

I have a 3" teraflex lift with 35s and I was thinking of coilovers. however I have no idea what they are or the benefit to them and if they are added on to your lift or not. being this is a forum and im still new at this educate me. I love learning. Thanks guys cheers
Old 09-18-2015, 09:17 AM
JK Enthusiast

Coilovers are a shock and a spring in one unit. They are adjustable, rebuildable, and generally offer a better ride and better range of travel. They can be a pain in the butt to get set up right, you buy the coilovers, install them, do a bunch of math to figure out the correct springs, and then hope you were right and buy more springs because you probably werent (I did that 3 times). After you get them set up correctly they are night and day better than a coil spring and shock setup. Unless you are going really wild with your build, dont worry about them.

Also they are really expensive, a good set of front 2.0 coilovers is going to run you $1500-$2000 all said and done if you install them yourself.

Last edited by TweakJK; 09-18-2015 at 09:22 AM.
Old 09-18-2015, 12:30 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by TweakJK