Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Front end problems?/ allignment after lift installed

Old 05-01-2018, 03:26 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Question Front end problems?/ allignment after lift installed

So about 2 weeks ago I got a 3in trail master lift put on with 33in MT tires. The installer told me just to get a alignment in the next few weeks. Drove a lot including a 2 hour drive no issues except coming back on a Texas state highway I hit a decent little bump with a curve going about 75-80mph and felt a little shake that scared the shit out of me and traction control light went on but this fixed itself in about a second. Thought nothing of it. Week later went to Christian Brothers automotive to get alignment done and they told me that I had a driver side ball joint that’s wearing out, also that to get the proper camber/ caster adjustments I’d need a adjustable caster link or something of that sorts? The camber was off that most affecting tire life with driver side at -.9 and passengers at -.2, caster both at 2.8 degrees. And toe at .18 drivers and .16 passenger. I have changed nothing front end wise besides 3 in lift brake line extensions and QD sway bar. In addition when I went home I started looking at sway bar because I know it is something that eventually needs to be upgraded then I noticed I could move my drag link bar up and down but took a moderate amount of force isn’t shaky seeming loose or anything just maybe rubber piece of joint needs to be replaced?, is this something that is causing alignment to be off and the possible tiny death wobble I may have exp