Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Kinda irritated about 4x4

Old 01-05-2014, 04:34 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Kinda irritated about 4x4

Just wondering what I need to do. Im fairly new to Jeeps so i may be way off here.
Driving around today i was driving down a county road headed to my in laws farm and the road drifts really bad when it snows. anyway i start driving through( granted my 3.8L is a turd) and all is fine. then all of a sudden i start to spin and as i start digging the rig starts to turn sideways and after rocking back and forth enough times i was facing the other direction and went by down the way i came.......So as i was doing this i watched my tires.....sometimes they would all spin sometimes they wouldnt. I realize i dont have axle lock like a rubi, which im assuming is what locks and allows power to all wheels instead of limited slip.

Im just not used to that as i drive a superduty most of the time and when you lock it in...hold on we are diggin in! so whats my options..... After todays episode of stupid driving im about to go get a new rubicon and calling it a day.. i just got time and money in this on, and i like it, other then the motor. and the dana 30....2011 JK sport ....3.5 RK lift is what i got now. owe like 12500 on it....what you think i should do here. Also just ordered 5:13s for it as well.
Old 01-05-2014, 04:46 PM
JK Junkie

If you ordered gears then you'll already be in the axles- why not just order lockers to go with them and be done with it. Seeing where you're at in the build phase.....lockers would be an easy choice.