Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Newbie help - 1st Mod problems

Old 08-26-2007, 07:05 AM
OCD
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie help - 1st Mod problems

I am new to Jeep, posting and off-roading. So here goes. . . I have a 2007 Rubicon JK Unlimited. I picked it up yesterday from a local off-road shop that added a 3.5 inch lift, with shocks. They also put on Procomp Extreme MTs 315/70R17. I took it up some local trails. Got home and looked under the Jeep only to see that my rear right shock was snapped (metal snapped about one inch above where it connects at bottom) and that my front right sway bar (?) connect was hanging loose at the top connection.

I was on mild trails and did not do anything that I had not done dozens of times when it was stock Rubicon.

Any thoughts on cause?

Thanks!
Old 08-26-2007, 07:16 AM
JK Freak

Originally Posted by OCD
I am new to Jeep, posting and off-roading. So here goes. . . I have a 2007 Rubicon JK Unlimited. I picked it up yesterday from a local off-road shop that added a 3.5 inch lift, with shocks. They also put on Procomp Extreme MTs 315/70R17. I took it up some local trails. Got home and looked under the Jeep only to see that my rear right shock was snapped (metal snapped about one inch above where it connects at bottom) and that my front right sway bar (?) connect was hanging loose at the top connection.

I was on mild trails and did not do anything that I had not done dozens of times when it was stock Rubicon.

Any thoughts on cause?

Thanks!