Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

Soft top noob

Old 06-11-2014, 09:47 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Soft top noob

Im on my third jeep and Ive never had one with a soft top. They've all had hard tops. I was wondering if anyone could kind of explain to me whats the difference between a frameless and a framed top? Also if I wanted to get a soft top for the summers are they hard to install and could I find a durable one for under $1200?

By the way I drive a two-door.
Old 06-11-2014, 10:17 AM
JK Junkie

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts

I'm not an expert by any means but I just installed a soft top on my 2 door a couple of months ago. The framed tops are exactly that, they have a metal frame. This is what I got, a Bestop Supertop NX, which is very similar to the factory soft top.

Frameless has no frame. It attaches to the roll bar and I'm sure other attachment points but have never installed one. I believe they all have removeable rear windows but only some have removeable side windows. Not sure if they have some kind of sunrider position as well. If you want a completely open top, you have to remove it as opposed the the framed one that just folds back. The Supertop NX has the sunrider option which allows you to quickly flip the front back exposing just the front seats. Easy to pop back if rain starts.

Bestop is good quality and actually make the tops for Jeep that come stock. Hope this helps.

Welcome to the forum.
Old 06-11-2014, 10:24 AM
JK Freak