Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM

Suspension, wheels, gears

Old 03-01-2009, 07:20 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Suspension, wheels, gears

I'm new to all of this upgrading stuff for my wrangler, so please bear with me if I ask something stupid or obvious, and hey, everyone has to start off somewhere, right?

I'd like to put in 33" tires on my JK, so would regearing my 6spd to 4.88 be recommended or can I keep it at stock? Also, I'm sorry if this sounds stupid, but where do you get your JK regeared for things like that?
And as far as suspension goes, I've read that I don't need to lift my JK if all I want to put in is 33" tires, yet there is the issue with rubbing. Would you guys recommend a suspension lift, or just an inexpensive body lift?

I'm probably just going to be doing beginner to moderate off-roading with no rock crawling.

Thanks, any help is greatly appreciated.
Old 03-01-2009, 07:50 PM
JK-Forum Founder

Received 16 Likes on 15 Posts

hey e0987c5t3, welcome to JK-Forum.com!!