Notices
Modified JK Tech Tech related bulletin board forum regarding subjects such as suspension, tires & wheels, steering, bumpers, skid plates, drive train, cages, on-board air and other useful modifications that will help improve the performance and protection of your Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) on the trail.

PLEASE DO NOT START SHOW & TELL TYPE THREADS IN THIS FORUM
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by:

What gear ratio for 35s

Old 08-09-2016, 10:10 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default What gear ratio for 35s

Hello I soon plan on adding a set of atx cornice haven't decided between 17s or 18s, leaning towards 17s and wrapping them in 35 inch toyo open country mts. I have a 2010 Jeep wrangler unlimited sport and was wondering if I need to re gear. A guy from local jeep club says I will need to and said to go to 4.88s. And while trying to research have seen a lot of people running 5.13s and say that is best if ever decide to go to 37s. I'm new to jeeps so woundering what is best to use brands and ratios. also any other tips. Like will I need a programmer for speedo. Thanks for help
Old 08-09-2016, 10:14 PM
JK Newbie

also its an auto with 3.8l engine if that makes a difference. Another thing is it worth putting lockers on it while I'm at it and what is best to get thanks
Old 08-09-2016, 10:19 PM
JK Freak

5.13 if you have an auto and 3.8L. Don't go higher (numerically lower).

You will save money if you do lockers at the same time, but I would not spend any money on D30, because once it fails, you will need to get a new locker for a 44 axle. You will also want to consider upgrading axle shafts in that case. You could lock the rear and replace the shafts. An ARB works great, but there are other selectable options as well.

And yes, you will need a programmer for speedo if you change the tire size. Doesn't matter for a gear change though.