Notices
New England If you live in the New England area (Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, and Connecticut) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members in your area and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

Maine lift laws regarding ABS - clarified, I hope

Old 04-22-2010, 02:16 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Maine lift laws regarding ABS - clarified, I hope

As a Maine resident considering a lift for my JK, I've done lots of reading on the 'net about this topic recently, and there seems to be some confusion about what's allowed and what isn't, especially with respect to vehicles with anti-lock braking systems (ABS). I've read on other sites that you may not modify any Maine-registered, ABS equipped vehicle at all. I don't think this is true.

I'm not a legal expert so take it all with a grain of whatever but I'm looking at the Maine Inspection Manual directly on the state of Maine web site:

http://www.maine.gov/dps/msp/license...nspection.html

It contains a link to the manual in PDF format. The document is dated Dec. 15, 2006. Laws may have changed since then.

I think some of the confusion comes from people reading that the body may not be lifted on an ABS equipped vehicle, and interpreting that as any lift -- i.e. not differentiating it from a suspension lift.

Page 66 of the PDF (at least in the version online today, 4-22-2010, with a publication datea of 12/15/2006), which by the way is printed as page 25 on the actual page, states:

(6) Suspension lifts are permitted if they are manufactured by an
after market manufacturer, are designed for the make and
model vehicle on which they are installed, and if the kit is
installed according to the manufacturer's recommendations.
The entire kit must be used.

and goes on to say

(8) Body lifts are permitted on any vehicle that is not equipped
with an anti*lock braking system, provided that they are