Notices
The New Member Registry If you're new to JK-Forum.com, please take a moment to sign-in, introduce yourself and show us your Jeep JK Wrangler!!

Newbie here looking for info before buying a jk

Old 08-12-2013, 07:18 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Newbie here looking for info before buying a jk

2008 wrangler Sahara 4dr automatic

Has rock krawler suspension kit running 37"'s. salesman tells me over 25mph it wobbles. I've done research on the "death wobble" issue and became more confused then before. Wasn't sure if any of y'all could give me some advice to check it out, plan on taking it to mechanic (dealership says the do not have anyone capable to work on those suspensions?) from what I have read its trackbar, tie rods, ball joints.... List goes on. Any help would be greatly appreciated. Don't mind fixing it myself depending on the fix due to the price of the jeep being low due to this issue... Thanks

I'm in pensacola fl if anyone near could tell me of a place to take it or get some advice from.
Old 08-12-2013, 07:37 PM
JK Junkie

Look for planman's writeup on the death wobble, but if the dealer can't figure it out then maybe you should be looking at going to an off road shop to have it looked over.

Make sure they've got the proper driveshafts, control arms, flipped steering, and all of the such on the jeep if it's already lifted with 37's. Pictures would be helpful to some of the more savvy folks here who can spot things a mile away. Also- a price so they can give you some guidance on what to pay for what you're getting.

Keep in mind that the auto trans should have some sort of cooler running 37's. If it doesn't have one then make sure your trans is covered by warranty should it happen to experience problems. Check for axle gear ratios.

There is a lot that you're getting into with it, just be aware.

Sent from my DROID4 using Tapatalk 4
Old 08-12-2013, 07:52 PM
JK Newbie