Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Click vs Tick?

Old 08-22-2012, 09:26 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Click vs Tick?

I'm a carpenter not a mechanic so this is likely a rookie question. Does a 'normal' Pentastar make a rather soft clicking noise on both sides of the engine as part of its regular operation? I can hear this on mine but only when the hood is up. The clicking doesn't sound as distinct as the sound I've heard on videos about the tick problem. Is the tick super obvious?

Thanks in advance for anyone who can humor my beginner question!
Old 08-22-2012, 09:38 AM
JK Freak

By the time the head is in need of replacement, the tick is loud and obvious. However, it doesn't start off that way. Those owners who have actually had a head replacement report hearing a softer tick on one side that gradually gets louder, as well as decrease in power and MPG. Some get the check engine light and some don't.

Just keep your ear out for changes in the intensity. Some owners report that after switching to synthetic oil, what they thought was the Pentastar tick went away.
Old 08-22-2012, 09:41 AM
JK Jedi

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The click ur hearing might just be the injectors working. That's normal.
A good test is to use a long screwdriver and place the handle end on your ear, the bit end on what ur trying to listen to... Kinda like a stethoscope.
Old 08-22-2012, 09:45 AM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

It sounds like you are hearing valve train clatter. I've never heard a motor without it. The "tick" is a loud CLICK CLICK CLICK CLICK, that is spot on the rpm of the motor. I finally got the chance to hear one in person, it is clear when it is happening.
Old 08-22-2012, 12:23 PM
JK Enthusiast