Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

EGR nightmare! Now triggers limp mode

Old 07-20-2020, 06:12 PM
JK Newbie

Received 1 Like on 1 Post
Default EGR nightmare! Now triggers limp mode

Hey guys, I am new to positing on this forum but have been searching for years for the wisdom you guys have posted!

I figured it was time to post since I am completely at loss on the issue I am facing. I have a 2009 JKU sport with around 175k miles.

My problems began with the CEL kicking on every now and then indicating the P0404 error code (would turn on and off for a few months). Since all of the shutdowns/isolations happening here on the east coast, I found plenty of time to dig in and start replacing the EGR valve. Upon replacing the EGR valve and cracking every single bumper clip, I put it back together and cleared the error codes.

Probably 200 miles in and I received a CEL with the code P0401 error code indicating a restricted airflow from the EGR valve.

Frustrated by it, I started working on it again and stripped out the lovely fender again just to replace the clips and removed the EGR tube. I sprayed carburetor cleaner on it and wire brushed/used a pick to remove all of the gunk from the side in the intake manifold. Rather satisfied with my cleaning of the tube, I reinstalled it into the Jeep and clamped everything down.