Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Engine wont start

Old 08-05-2012, 02:57 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Engine wont start

Was driving my 08 auto fine all day today. Turned it off then literally went to start it one minute later and nothing. This isn't the same problem as putting it in neutral. I'm not getting any click at all by starter or engine. Tested the battery with a multi meter and it has power. All dash lights come on. I looked at the ignition fuse and it looked ok, but i am no expert on cartridge fuses. Any ideas?? Thanks
Old 08-05-2012, 03:14 PM
JK Junkie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

Original battery? If so you need to get it load tested, not just with a multimeter.

That is where I would start. If the battery proves to be good then there are other things to check.
Old 08-05-2012, 03:24 PM
JK Junkie

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts

clockspring, neutral safety switch,starter,cables, so on so forth, if and auto try park to first and back to park a few times
Old 08-05-2012, 03:25 PM
JK Enthusiast

My 08 did something like this also. I replaced the starter and then I had to replace the battery. I would take the battery to autozone or somewhere and let them check it first
Old 08-05-2012, 03:32 PM
JK Enthusiast

Just tried to jump it and that didn't work
Old 08-05-2012, 04:39 PM
JK Enthusiast

All of these 'My Jeep won't start' threads is either a coincidence or maybe Chrysler has a 'Kill all of the older model JK's so they come back to buy a '12-'13' buttons.
Old 08-05-2012, 05:03 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post