Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.
Sponsored by:
Sponsored by: DashLynx

Jacked Up rear diff

Old 01-12-2012, 03:20 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Angry Jacked Up rear diff

So just got my jk a couple weeks ago. Put it up on a lift to see what kind of conditions its in and come to find previous owner never changed any fluids other than oil. So spent the day changing all the fluids. pulled the rear diff cover to find first i have a 3.21 gear ratio. And some idiot has taken apart the rear diff and put it back together wrong. Sorry don't remember names of the components. I'm a generator mechanic so still learning how to work on everything past the engine. But had a mechanic look at it while i had the cover off. If you look at the left side where the clamp is holding the axle and the bearing in you'll notice the gap is all jacked up but its pointless to fix unless i buy a rebuild kit. and its pointless to buy a rebuild kit since i am going to regear it anyway. Atleast the backlash wasn't bad. So hopefully it doesn't actually break before i can afford new gears. but if anyone would like to donate a bigger gear set. I won't complain.
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120112_131045.jpg
Views:	435
Size:	53.2 KB
ID:	263142Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20120112_131054.jpg
Views:	434
Size:	47.0 KB
ID:	263143

Atleast it looks like the last owner never offroaded it at all so all damage to the bottom that comes will be from me.

Oh and whoevers idea it was to run the exhaust 2 inches below the tranny drain plug is an A$$hole. Had to cut an 17mm allen key and weld it to a 17 mm box wrench to get the drain plug out. They do that crap just so you take it to them for services.
Old 01-12-2012, 04:40 PM
JK Enthusiast