Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Jeep lubricants. Petroleum based, or Synthetics?

Old 01-03-2015, 11:02 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Jeep lubricants. Petroleum based, or Synthetics?

Howdy all.

I will be getting a new jeep in the next few months, first new vehicle in 27 years. I am struggling with the thought of the “best” lubricants to use once the break-in period is finished. Again, I seek the experience and wisdom of the forum.

Background. I am a retired soldier, working in electronics and electrical for a power company. I am not a mechanic, and I have NEVER slept in a holiday Inn. I can turn wrenches and read a manual, but it isn’t my idea of FUN. We are leaning toward a JKU-Rubicon Hard Rock so I can avoid things like Axle upgrades etc. But I mostly do my own periodic maintenance. I trust my work, I have been screwed by the “30 min oil change” store. They stripped the drain plug, stuffed it in with Teflon tape, then weeks later when it fell out it wasn’t their fault…. Right!

I have read some information in the forums, but it seems like there was a lot of opinion and not much fact to back it up. And it was mostly engine oil, nothing found about transfer case at all so far.

FIRST – what is considered the break-in period for engine, transmission, transfer, and axles? It may all be in the owners manual, but I do not have an owners manual. Yet.