Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

No valet key!

Old 03-28-2013, 08:17 AM
JK Freak

Received 8 Likes on 8 Posts
Default No valet key!

Does anyone know of the valet key issue? The dealer wants 107 bucks for a separate key that keeps the glove box and console locked but allows the ignition to be operated. Does anyone know of another way on an aftermarket option?
Old 03-28-2013, 08:30 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

Hey jkrubcon - I am no expert, but, I recall reading on here somewhere that as long as you have both of your original keys, you can buy a cheap one on ebay and then go through a process in the Jeep to program the third one.

I am sure someone here recalls what I am talking about and can expand on this. good luck. Let us know how it goes.

Old 03-28-2013, 08:49 AM
JK Super Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Originally Posted by Evo35
Hey jkrubcon - I am no expert, but, I recall reading on here somewhere that as long as you have both of your original keys, you can buy a cheap one on ebay and then go through a process in the Jeep to program the third one.

I am sure someone here recalls what I am talking about and can expand on this. good luck. Let us know how it goes.

Yup you can, and the process to program the key is in your owners manual. If you dont have your owners manual you can get it from jeep.com or jeep.ca
Old 03-28-2013, 08:56 AM
JK Jedi

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts

You could also swap out the locks on the glovebox and console so you need a separate key to open them.
Old 03-28-2013, 02:40 PM
JK Freak