Notices
Stock JK Tech Bulletin board forum regarding issues with OE (original equipment) components of the Jeep JK Wrangler (Rubicon, Sahara, Unlimited and X) such as factory suspension parts, engine, transmission, body parts, interior fixtures and the on-board computer.

Stripping bolts

Old 02-11-2019, 12:34 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Stripping bolts

So, to start out I bought a 2012 Jeep Wrangler in December. The waterpump exploded. One day coolant was just being flung all over the engine. Which I was okay with, parts go bad and I understand this.

I am just having a difficult time adjusting to how soft the aluminum engine really is. I have a Haines manual for a rough idea of what I am doing and torque specs. While replacing the waterpump I have stripped 3 bolts so far. It is super annoying. I've been working on my own cars since 2007. I own a 2004 VW Jetta that I used to wrench on regularly. It currently has 210k miles and I have NEVER stripped the bolts. I did shear the exhaust studs while upgrading the down pipe, but that was because I didn't listen to a friend of mine to wait for him. He ended up using a torch on the one's that were left and that was so much easier.

I just wanted to see, is this normal?
Should I buy more helicoils?

I was puting the idler pulley back on and was "trying" to tighten to 18ft-lbs of torque.

Old 02-11-2019, 04:25 AM
JK Jedi
FJOTM Winner

Received 1,818 Likes on 1,588 Posts

Yikes. I've not had to pull anything off the engine in my 2013 yet. This isn't very encouraging to see.
Old 02-11-2019, 04:44 AM
Super Moderator

Received 206 Likes on 180 Posts