Notices
East Coast If you live in the Mid-Atlantic area (Pennsylvania, New York, New Jersey, Maryland, Delaware, DC, Virginia, West Virginia, North Carolina and South Carolina) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members near to you and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

Philly area - any easy starter trails for a newbie?

Old 09-03-2010, 02:06 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Philly area - any easy starter trails for a newbie?

I've heard of Rausch Creek, not sure I'm up to that yet. Looking for basic dirt roads or something a little more difficult that I can start to get my feet wet in. Safe to assume I have no off-road experience unless you count taking a mini-van to French Creek State Park.

My Jeeps my daily driver so I can't break anything (yet).
Old 09-03-2010, 05:02 PM
JK Junkie

Originally Posted by bcrouse
There are many trails at Rausch Creek that vary in difficulty. Youd be perfectly safe on Green trails if you just want to get your feets wet
Yeah..what bcrouse said. You'll get frustrated looking for a spot to wheel locally (that's legal) unless you know someone with some land that's willing to let you ride. Dirt roads? Well there are few in and around Chester County (off of Horseshoe Trail Road and St. Matthews Road) that I'll occasionally take to work to escape the roads everyone else travels on (especially when it snows ). But when you're ready...Rausch Creek is a great park with all levels of trails. I'm right up the road from you in North Coventry and head to RC a few times a year.

I've heard there are some pretty nasty minivan trails in French Creek so I would consider yourself a seasoned off-roader
Old 09-03-2010, 05:03 PM
JK Enthusiast

Thanks. I just ran through a bunch of youtube videos showing some of the greens. Looks pretty good. I'll have to see if I can participate in one of the guided rides.
Old 09-03-2010, 05:08 PM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by HG07JKRubi