Notices
Four Corners If you live in the Four Corners area (Utah, Colorado, Arizona and New Mexico) and would like to meet some of the great JK-Forum members in your area and/or discuss upcoming trail events, this is the forum for you.

New Mexico

Old 03-14-2008, 06:48 PM
JK Freak

Received 2 Likes on 2 Posts
Default New Mexico

Native Oregonian looking to move to a state that has better weather than Oregon (imagine 45 days of non-stop rain with the temperature hovering right around 35 F) in the next few years. Did a lot of reading and came up with New Mexico. Anyone here from New Mexico, say the northern part? Maybe you can tell me some pros and cons. I've lived all over California but its too nasty there but I would also consider northern Arizona. I'm an Auto Body Tech and I have 2 school age kids so I kinda have to live in or near a populated area as well with good schools. Also, wife is a software engineer so maybe I sould consider if an area has any high tech companies.
Old 03-14-2008, 11:21 PM
JK Super Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts

I don't live in Arizona but I've traveled a lot in New Mexico and Arizona. If I personally was going to move there I would go to Prescott. It is a nice town, big enough to have everything you need like shopping, doctors, schools etc. But it is also small enough to feel comfortable walking the sidewalks down town. There is also access to skiing in Flagstaff and the big city of Phoenix. This is just a suggestion for you to consider. I hope you find what you are looking for and settle nicely into your new home town. Good luck!
Old 03-15-2008, 06:03 AM
JK Super Freak

Check out Durango and Pagosa Springs in southwest Colorado.

Both are getting a little crowded at times, but there is so much to do there. Their economy seems to be doing well, good schools and medical care.

They also boast that they get more than 300 days a year of sunshine. Blinding bouncing off all that snow. I love it up there, and wish I could make it my home.