Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Ham or cb?

Old 06-13-2009, 07:00 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Ham or cb?

I am a complete newb to all this.. What is the differene between a HAM and CB? pro's con's?
Old 06-13-2009, 07:23 AM
JK Super Freak

Location: Simi Valley, Ca., Taylorsville, Ut. and places in between
Received 1 Like on 1 Post

The simple way to explain it is cb dont need a license and are limited in range where a ham requires a written exam and a license.
There are some that use both radios in their Jeeps.
For ease and starting out, cb would be the way to go.

Last edited by donnie; 06-13-2009 at 07:26 AM.
Old 06-13-2009, 02:46 PM
JK Super Freak

CB.
Pros...Cheap. Easy. Incredibly common. As stated, no license required.
Cons...Limited range. Only 40 Channels.

HAM.
Pros...Hundreds, thousands of frequencies. Repeater systems: The best way I can explain that is to say I am never out of comms with SOMEONE. Easy: It was intimidating to me but now that I have done it, it was easy. Unlimited range: from San Diego I can key up one frequency and talk to California, Oregon, Idaho, Washington, Alaska and a few other states.
Cons...More expensive. License required, but not too difficult.

Unfortunately they aren't compatible. Modifying a HAM radio for CB is illegal. Some Jeep clubs require you to have a CB before they allow you on their trail run.

X2 on getting a CB first. If you are only out with other people a CB is all you need. If you plan to depart pavement and cell coverage by yourself then get a license and radio.

I just did a quick search. 31 repeaters in the Chicago area. Wow!
Old 06-14-2009, 09:16 AM
JK Freak

Smile