Notices
JK CB & HAM Radios Bulletin board forum regarding all topics concerning CB and HAM radios, the installation of them in your Jeep JK Wrangler. This would include antenna mounts, wiring, tuning and usage.

Noob here

Old 11-22-2011, 10:35 AM
JK Freak

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Noob here

I saw something today on Fox News about ham radio licenses and applications being at an all time high. I have always sort of wondered about this hobby and it certainly seems to fit in with the other things I do (aside from being a husband and dad). Sooooo...
1.) What does it take to get into this? How does one go about getting a license and a start-up radio rig?
2.) What does it take to get an all-around versatile mobile HAM set-up in a JK? By this I mean a set-up that does NOT rival what you would find in a US military mobile command comms HMMWV. I am not after dropping $25K into a rig

I looked on the 'Net and found several used radios. There were some Kenwood units on eBay that looked great, but the were PRICEY!!! Any advice on this? anyone in the Shreveport, LA area care to take a noob under the wing to help a noob get started? I can't exactly put a 80-foot antenna in my backyard, though. The wife might not like that idea too much.
Old 11-22-2011, 11:44 AM
JK Enthusiast

Originally Posted by jeepguy553
I saw something today on Fox News about ham radio licenses and applications being at an all time high. I have always sort of wondered about this hobby and it certainly seems to fit in with the other things I do (aside from being a husband and dad). Sooooo...
1.) What does it take to get into this? How does one go about getting a license and a start-up radio rig?
2.) What does it take to get an all-around versatile mobile HAM set-up in a JK? By this I mean a set-up that does NOT rival what you would find in a US military mobile command comms HMMWV. I am not after dropping $25K into a rig