Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

Speaker upgrade help!!!

Old 06-05-2012, 01:31 PM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default Speaker upgrade help!!!

Hello, I want to start off by saying I am a newbie. The only thing I know about speakers is that my stock Jeep JK 2-door X's speakers sound like crap. Now the question is; what would you guys recommend for a speaker upgrade? I am not looking at completely decking out my jeep just some nicer speakers would be nice. I defiantly do not want to go into Amps and Subs and stuff like that. I am currently looking at the JEEP WRANGLER JK KICKER SPEAKER UPGRADE and Polk Audio DB651 6.5-Inch Coaxial Speakers, Which one would you recommend over the other? If not these two, what kind? once again I am trying to keep it affordable.

Thanks
Old 06-05-2012, 02:01 PM
JK Enthusiast

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

I can't speak to the kickers, but I have the Polk DB651s in the front and the sound bar and I'm very happy with them. I got them on crutchfield, $150 for all 4, they were buy one pair get one pair 50% off. If you are replacing the 6.5's you should also do the tweeters while you are at it. Of all the stock speakers in the non infinity system I think the tweets are the worst offenders as far as sucking. I put in the Polk DXI1000. I believe they were right about $50 from crutchfield.

I am also running an aftermarket HU, so I'm pushing a bit more power to the speakers than your stock HU will, but I'm sure they will be a vast improvement.
Old 06-05-2012, 02:55 PM
JK Newbie