Notices
JK Electrical, Lighting & Sound Systems Bulletin board forum regarding topics such as stereo head units, CD players, MP3 players, speaker systems, amplifiers, hardmounted GPS devices, computers, headlight upgrades, fog lights, off-road lights, general wiring and anti-theft devices.

sPOD worth it?

Old 06-04-2014, 03:50 AM
JK Newbie

Received 0 Likes on 0 Posts
Default sPOD worth it?

Hey everyone! I'm new to the jeep community and have been doing some research in regards to auxiliary lighting and wiring. I'm a bit anal when it comes to things looking neat and clean, so the idea of this sPOD having only one wire that taps into the battery seems right up my alley! I was wondering if anyone here has installed it, and if so, what are your opinions. Is it worth the $$, is there a cheaper just as good option, etc? Thanks
Old 06-04-2014, 04:11 AM
JK Enthusiast

I was in the same boat a while back. First let me say I am a tight a$$. I liked the Spod but I could see spending all that money for something that I could build or get cheaper. I went the Bussmann route. There is a guy in Az. that makes them up. They work great. I went with the Weather Tight Relay Box because it has relays already in it. here is a link to his site. Relays, Fuses & Breakers | PMA4x4.comPMA4x4.com

here are a few pictures of what I did.

Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140207_142715_268.jpg
Views:	731
Size:	46.6 KB
ID:	557534 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140211_074025_166.jpg
Views:	740
Size:	58.0 KB
ID:	557535 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140311_163616_324.jpg
Views:	666
Size:	49.6 KB
ID:	557536 Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_20140311_101939_109.jpg
Views:	627
Size:	41.3 KB
ID:	557537
Old 06-04-2014, 04:15 AM
JK Freak

Received 1 Like on 1 Post

Ive never heard anyone regret buying it. But you can build something similar enough too. "Worth it" is a relative term.
Old 06-04-2014, 04:33 AM
JK Junkie

Received 3 Likes on 3 Posts